Valentine Dragon Story

Standard

An homage to these guys (and for the Valentiny Contest):

dragons four

Part of an illustration by Pascal Lemaitre.

Dragon Hearts, by Judith L. Roth (214 words)

 

I hear their hearts beating. Dragon hearts.

Blue’s heart beats like a tambourine because he’s flashy.

Green’s heart beats like a drum. So steady.

Yellow’s is bouncy like tap shoes.

But Red’s is grumpy. Today, Red’s heart is like a sad tuba with nothing happy to say.

What’s the matter, Red? I ask.

Red turns away. He stomps on each flower he passes.

A smash-flower bouquet? I ask.

Red turns away. He picks up stones and flings them into the stream.

A rock-skipping dismal day?

Red turns away. He bats at each redbud leaf he passes. Then he snaps one off, holds it high, and scorches it.

I finally notice. Each flower bud, each stone shape, each redbud leaf is a heart.

Valentine’s Day has come to the forest, and no one has given Red a valentine.

I race back to the others. Blue sprinkles Green and Yellow with flowers from a bleeding-heart fern. Green plants a heartful seed-pod in the dirt. Yellow serves up a dish of strawberry hearts.

Red has left too soon.

I call him with my beating heart. Come, tum-tum, and see.

            Blue, Yellow and Green join in. Come, tum-tum, to me.

            Red rumbles back, paws full of nature’s gifts–unsmashed, unflung, unscorched.

The best kind of hearts. Dragon hearts.

About Judith L. Roth

When I was about ten, it occurred to me that books are written by people and I was a person. I could create my favorite things–I could write books! I got a B.A. in English. My first poem was accepted for publication before I graduated. I had some success with poetry, but my real dream was to write fiction for children. My first fiction piece was accepted about 25 years after the first submission. Things you might want to know about me: I know how to persevere. I’m a third-generation California native, living in Indiana. I have two remarkable sons who are now young men,and a husband who’s supported my writing for over three decades. I love cats and currently have three of them. I love being near water–oceans, lakes, rivers all work for me. Chocolate is probably my biggest downfall. I’m exceptionally curious. (Or nosy, as my family calls it.)

31 responses »

  1. I agree. It reads like a picture book! I can see your descriptions in my mind. I especially like your similes at the beginning.

  2. What a beautiful job you did, Judith! Love your descriptions of the dragon hearts! And love the way you showed Red’s grumpiness, with the flower stomping, rock flinging and leaf scorching! How nice that your MC was tuned in enough to realize and solve the problem 🙂 Thanks so much for joining in the first-ever Valentiny fun!

Leave a Reply

