In love with books

Standard

I’m not kidding when I say I’ve always loved books.

Look at that enthusiasm! I remember wanting to learn to read so badly when I was about four. My cousin Marcia tried to teach me. It seems fitting now that the book was about a cat. But the magic of reading didn’t happen for me right away. When I was growing up, the schools didn’t teach reading until first grade. I was dismayed my first day when I found out some of the kids already knew how. Oh no! I was a failure already, before my school days had even gotten off the ground! But that’s the last thing I remember about that monumental time in my life of learning to read. I think it happened quickly after that first day, because I don’t remember any more angst about reading. I do remember sneaking books to read under my desk when I’d finished the first grade classwork. I heard later that my teacher knew I was sneak-reading and let me continue. Not all my later teachers were so understanding. Mrs. Justice, you were well-named….

About Judith L. Roth

When I was about ten, it occurred to me that books are written by people and I was a person. I could create my favorite things–I could write books! I got a B.A. in English. My first poem was accepted for publication before I graduated. I had some success with poetry, but my real dream was to write fiction for children. My first fiction piece was accepted about 25 years after the first submission. Things you might want to know about me: I know how to persevere. I’m a third-generation California native, living in Indiana. I have two remarkable sons who are now young men,and a husband who’s supported my writing for over three decades. I love cats and currently have three of them. I love being near water–oceans, lakes, rivers all work for me. Chocolate is probably my biggest downfall. I’m exceptionally curious. (Or nosy, as my family calls it.)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

