What should I work on next?

Standard

Other than some final copyediting tasks, I am finished with Serendipity and Me. Now I can start on my next big project. But I can’t decide what that will be. The top three finalists for this question are:

1. The Other Jessamy. This is a book that was written all the way through, but the protagonist wasn’t likeable enough. To change things up, I started rewriting it in a novel-in-verse style. So much better! But it changed the character so much that now, halfway through the book, I don’t know how it ends or where to go from here. Frustrating.

2. Three Prayers. A historical novel set in 1850 in Indiana. I know how it ends, but I don’t know how to get from the middle part to the end.  This one’s a departure for me because it’s not written in first person. It’s written in third person from three different viewpoints.

3. Game of My Life. Started as a poem picture book. Like Serendipity and Me, an editor asked me to make it into a novel-in-verse, so I did. It has been reworked many times and has gotten a lot of attention, but no final bite. One death knell–who would read it? Editors can’t believe soccer players would read poetry. The higher literary houses want more development behind the character to balance the soccer. I’m wondering if time spent on this would ultimately come to naught. But I badly want this one made into a book. My oldest son deserves his chance for a book dedicated solely to him.

So. Meanwhile I’m avoiding the issue by playing around with picture book texts. They require less commitment. But I need to make a decision and get started on something bigger.

I’d love to know what you would do, or which you’d rather read. How do you decide which project to work on next?

Brendan flying through the air in Italy...a decade ago

About Judith L. Roth

When I was about ten, it occurred to me that books are written by people and I was a person. I could create my favorite things–I could write books! I got a B.A. in English. My first poem was accepted for publication before I graduated. I had some success with poetry, but my real dream was to write fiction for children. My first fiction piece was accepted about 25 years after the first submission. Things you might want to know about me: I know how to persevere. I’m a third-generation California native, living in Indiana. I have two remarkable sons who are now young men,and a husband who’s supported my writing for over three decades. I love cats and currently have three of them. I love being near water–oceans, lakes, rivers all work for me. Chocolate is probably my biggest downfall. I’m exceptionally curious. (Or nosy, as my family calls it.)

3 responses »

  1. I am sure this will not be helpful, but I work on several things at once. I would work with all of them!

    I’d like to read Three Prayers most. You didn’t mention what Jessamy was about, and I don’t know very much about soccer. Good luck!

  2. Update: I’ve been working on the historical novel, Three Prayers, for the last 9 months. If this was a baby, it would be ready to be delivered. As it is, I’m about two-thirds through. I can’t believe this much time has already passed….

Leave a Reply

