Kitten update

Standard

It’s time to continue the kitten saga….

I got lucky–the college boy didn’t take the new kitten away. He did name her, however. He didn’t like “Skitters,” but he found a name that was close enough in sound to match the skitteriness of this kitty, and it’s literary. Katniss.

Am I not adorable?

Am I not adorable?

She’s also called Rumba because when she was smaller she’d get in every possible tiny place (including scary basement ones) and come out with spiderwebs on her whiskers. She doesn’t fit in as many spaces anymore.

Yes, I got up here all by myself. I've got ups.

Yes, I got up here all by myself. I’ve got ups.

The cornfield boys have gotten more than used to her–they might think she’s a diversion we got just for their amusement. It’s not unusual to see them staring wide-eyed as she gets up to her antics…things they never thought of (like digging for treasure in the porcelain sink or jumping up six feet to cling to the curtains), or things they know they can’t get away with (like traversing all the surfaces that might hold food in the kitchen or demanding to sleep under our covers with us).

Unfortunately I don’t have any pictures of her doing her wild stuff. She moves too fast. But here is proof that she’s in with the boys.

It's okay if I hang out with you guys, right?

It’s okay if I hang out with you guys, right?

katniss and max

About Judith L. Roth

When I was about ten, it occurred to me that books are written by people and I was a person. I could create my favorite things–I could write books! I got a B.A. in English. My first poem was accepted for publication before I graduated. I had some success with poetry, but my real dream was to write fiction for children. My first fiction piece was accepted about 25 years after the first submission. Things you might want to know about me: I know how to persevere. I’m a third-generation California native, living in Indiana. I have two remarkable sons who are now young men,and a husband who’s supported my writing for over three decades. I love cats and currently have three of them. I love being near water–oceans, lakes, rivers all work for me. Chocolate is probably my biggest downfall. I’m exceptionally curious. (Or nosy, as my family calls it.)

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

