Thoughts about contentment

Standard

So, this is where I was a couple of weeks ago….In my hometown….

PICT3673

And this below is where I am now….In my adopted town….Where the trees are up to their armpits in snow.

PICT3746

Just so you know–I’m not one of those people who can’t wait for the snow to fall so they can hit the slopes. I’m one of those people who would prefer to see snow in someone’s phone pictures while I’m walking on the beach. Just so you know.

It’s been a very long, cold winter already. And it’s gotten me to thinking about being content where you are. This is not a lesson I’ve learned yet. Maybe because I can see the other side of the argument (as usual). Because if you are content where you are, you might never get up off the couch. So there’s something to be said for discontentment.

Right, Murray?

Right.

Right.

But right now I’m in a place I’ve chosen to be. And if the circumstances aren’t what I’d put on my wish list for a perfect day, there’s plenty to be happy about. Like that face up there. And this beautiful bird and view out my window.

PICT3741

And the fact that I’m in here, looking out.

Instead of out there, looking in.

Yeah. That’s a big one.

About Judith L. Roth

When I was about ten, it occurred to me that books are written by people and I was a person. I could create my favorite things–I could write books! I got a B.A. in English. My first poem was accepted for publication before I graduated. I had some success with poetry, but my real dream was to write fiction for children. My first fiction piece was accepted about 25 years after the first submission. Things you might want to know about me: I know how to persevere. I’m a third-generation California native, living in Indiana. I have two remarkable sons who are now young men,and a husband who’s supported my writing for over three decades. I love cats and currently have three of them. I love being near water–oceans, lakes, rivers all work for me. Chocolate is probably my biggest downfall. I’m exceptionally curious. (Or nosy, as my family calls it.)

2 responses »

  1. I agree. There’s always chocolate. But if you need a quick fix there’s always Lake Michigan. Of course it looks the same as your bird picture right now — but that’s also why God gave us hope. We hope that soon we’ll be warm and able to walk on sand and not snow. :-D

Leave a Reply

